none
Creating a custom TTS voice RRS feed

• Question

• I'm currently trying to use Speech.Synthesizer to give my application a voice. I tried using the SelectVoiceByHints to get a female child, but the voice is absolutely no different from a female adult. So, I'm instead trying to use a TTSEngine to create a new voice that has the voice of a child. However, I have no clue how to do this. Can anyone offer guidance?
    Monday, February 24, 2014 2:37 AM

All replies

• I'm currently trying to use Speech.Synthesizer to give my application a voice. I tried using the SelectVoiceByHints to get a female child, but the voice is absolutely no different from a female adult. So, I'm instead trying to use a TTSEngine to create a new voice that has the voice of a child. However, I have no clue how to do this. Can anyone offer guidance?

Control Voice Attributes

Please BEWARE that I have NO EXPERIENCE and NO EXPERTISE and probably onset of DEMENTIA which may affect my answers! Also, I've been told by an expert, that when you post an image it clutters up the thread and mysteriously, over time, the link to the image will somehow become "unstable" or something to that effect. :) I can only surmise that is due to Global Warming of the threads.

Monday, February 24, 2014 3:37 AM
  • Well the prompt builder didn't work when I tried it. If I'm doing it correctly.

And the only voice installed on my system currently is "Microsoft Anna".

Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
            Dim synth As New SpeechSynthesizer
            Dim Testing As New PromptBuilder
            Testing.StartVoice(Female, Child, 10)
            For Each Item In ListBox1.Items
                Testing.AppendText("ListBox 1. Item " & ItemCounter.ToString & ". is " & Item.ToString & ". ")
                ItemCounter += 1
            Next
            Testing.EndVoice()
            synth.SpeakAsync(Testing)
    End Sub