none
Problem with a simple recording macro......(copying a table from one excel tab to another) RRS feed

• Question

• Hi i have a simple table that basically has values via a vlookup.

sometimes the content needs to be edited, so i recorded a simple macro where i copied the table from 1 tab and pasted as values into another tab. (where the table is same layout)

it was working fine but now i get run time error 1004.....application defined or object defined error.

i am not good with macros - hence use recorded one. 

the code is as follows: the arrow/error seems to be for the line in red. but i dont know what the exact issue is????

ActiveSheet.Unprotect
        ActiveCell.Offset(4, -19).Range("A1:T16").Select
        Selection.Copy
        Sheets("Report Template (2)").Select
        ActiveCell.Offset(-9, -24).Range("A1:T16").Select
        Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValuesAndNumberFormats, Operation:= _
            xlNone, SkipBlanks:=False, Transpose:=False
        ActiveWindow.SmallScroll Down:=-24
        ActiveCell.Range("A1:T1").Select
        Sheets("Report Template").Select
        ActiveCell.Offset(6, 8).Range("A1:L1").Select
        ActiveWindow.SmallScroll Down:=-39
        Application.CutCopyMode = False
        ActiveSheet.Protect DrawingObjects:=True, Contents:=True, Scenarios:=True
        Sheets("Report Template (2)").Select
    End Sub

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 1:07 PM

All replies

• ActiveCell.Offset(-9, -24) is the cell 9 rows up and 24 columns to the left of the active cell. If the active cell is in or above row 9, or in or to the left of column X (the 24th column), this causes an error.

Can you omit the part ActiveCell.Offset(-9, -24). or will that cause other problems?

Regards, Hans Vogelaar (http://www.eileenslounge.com)

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 2:43 PM
  • Hi,

This is the forum to discuss questions and feedback for Microsoft Excel features, I'll move your question to the MSDN forum for Excel