Why would I ever use ServicedComponents for in-service data access? RRS feed

• Question

• If this question belongs in another forum, please let me know where. Otherwise ...

I've designed some data access objects that hit SQL Server 2005. They're to be used inside service boundaries in high-volume situations where scalability is an issue, so they'll execute on a separate server from business logic. Now I have to decide how to host them. I'm an experienced architect and developer (or I like to think so, anyway), but my .NET experience is modest, so I've been reading up.

Based on my research, one conclusion I've arrived at is that at least for SQL Server 2005, it doesn't make sense any more to use ServicedComponents for data access. Yet so many of the examples of how to create high-volume data access components use EnterpriseServices / ServicedComponents as the hosting mechanism, that I'm puzzled. As I said, my .NET experience is modest, so I'm putting the question out there: why would I ever use ServicedComponents for data access at this point in history? My reasoning is below. Can anyone tell me if I've made any errors? 'Preciate it.

-BillyB

1. One of the main reasons to use EnterpriseServices is for distributed transactions, but the new System.Transactions namespace stuff introduced in .NET 2.0 is faster, more flexible, and all-around better at this.