What is the best practice for Audit Trail ? RRS feed

• Question

• User-717070177 posted
    Currently I am involving in a project. This project is for my finance division. Because it's recording fund transaction, every record changes must be logged (what're changed? by whom? when?). I have no experience on Best Practice on implementing an audit trail. Currently I am planning to create a copy for each table on database name "audit_<<table_name>>", if the original <<table_name>> is changed then the old record will be copied first to "audit_<<table_name>>" - along with the username who change the record and datetime - before changing the value of original table. But in this way I feel too many resources is spent. Any suggestion? Thanks
    Monday, June 25, 2007 6:24 AM

Answers

• User1146730029 posted
    Not an easy problem to solve. Have a read of the following link that details two methods of doing this: http://www.4guysfromrolla.com/webtech/041807-1.shtml
    • Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, June 25, 2007 6:31 AM
  • User1971872635 posted

I've done this several times in the past and basically done what you're suggesting but with triggers.  IOW, you create an audit table with all the same columns as the original plus a few others (identity column, update date/time filed, operation code - ie, U,I,D for update, insert, delete).  Then, you create 3 triggers on each table, one for inserts, one for updates and one for deletes.  for the inserts & update triggers you insert into the audit table using the "inserted" table.  For the delete table you insert into the audit table from the "deleted" table.

Performance is excellent, resources are minimal, and you take all the responsibility for mainting the audit record out of the hands of programmers[:)]  For example:

create trigger dbo.OPER_ID_Insert
            on dbo.OPER_ID after insert
    AS
    SET NOCOUNT ON
    insert into dbo.oper_id_audit (
      timestamp,