none
DBF BinaryWriter Problem RRS feed

• Question

•  

I got a a problem. I'm trying to update a dbf file using the binarywriter.  The following code snippet is from a dollar conversion dll that I am creating.  It reads a field (example morgtage field) and formats the field as a dollar amount, and then updates the dbf file. 

Please note, I am familiar with the dbf file structure.  I have created a binary writer in vb.net.  I read and write to dbf files all the time (using vb.net).  On the other hand, I am new to C#.   There is nothing wrong with my dll in vb.net I am just re-writing my application in C# (how fun this is).

VB.NET CODE

If (temp.Contains("$")) Then

temp = temp.Substring(1, temp.Length - 1)

End If

DollarValue = Convert.ToDecimal(temp)

temp = String.Format("{0:C}", DollarValue)

icount = Field_length - temp.Length

For count As Integer = 0 To icount - 1

temp = temp + " "

Next

mark = fs_Reader.Position - Field_length

bw.Seek(mark, SeekOrigin.Begin)

bw.Write(temp, 0, temp.Length)

C# CODE

if (_fieldValue.Contains("$"))

{

_fieldValue = _fieldValue.Substring(1, _fieldLength - 1);

}

_fieldValue = string.Format("{0:c}", Convert.ToDouble(_fieldValue));

_fieldValue = Convert.ToString(_fieldValue);

_wpos = _pos; 

_bw.Seek(Convert.ToInt32(_wpos), SeekOrigin.Begin);

_bw.Write(_fieldValue);

Please let me know if I need to post more code.  The problem I am having is, it does not appear to be writing to the dbf file. The field is updated but with a blank value.  In visual basic when I write to the dbf file I specified the value, the starting postion, and the field size.  But C# appears to be a little different.

Also, I do have another question.

In visual basic my binaryreader and binarywriter variables use the same filestream.

fs_Reader = New FileStream(Path, FileMode.Open)

br = New BinaryReader(fs_Reader)

bw = New BinaryWriter(fs_Reader)

Is it ok to do the same in C#? Or will it cause additional problems?