none
Access 2016 - SQL Commands - Creating a Basic Map Using A Table - Filtering Records On Single Form RRS feed

• Question

• Hello and thanks in advance. I am new to the forum.

I have a little issue working on a project. I have a single form with our floor plan as the background. I am trying to get everyone's name located at their respective spot on this floor plan. Obviously this can be done manually, but I am really trying to link it up to a table for multiple reasons. I was told a list box should work but I am really trying to do this the correct way.

Is it at all possible to use text boxes to filter records and placing their respective boxes around the form? I have basic knowledge in VB and SQL, nothing crazy but I know how to make things work. Let us assume I have a single table called tblX with Field1 = ID and Field2 = Last. I want Last displayed and filtering on ID.

Any help?

• Edited by Jeff_spk Thursday, March 2, 2017 8:10 PM
    Thursday, March 2, 2017 8:10 PM

All replies

• Hi Jeff_spk,

from your description , all I understand that you want to show the employee name in textbox for the particular department. so that you can know which department is handle by which employee.

for that I create one table with employee names like below.

code:

Private Sub Command12_Click()
    Dim db As dao.Database
    Dim rs As dao.Recordset
    Dim sqlStr As String
    Dim i As Integer
    Dim cCont As Control

sqlStr = "SELECT * FROM employee"

Set db = CurrentDb
    Set rs = db.OpenRecordset(sqlStr)

rs.MoveFirst
      For Each cCont In Me.Controls

If TypeName(cCont) = "TextBox" Then
                cCont.SetFocus
                cCont.Text = rs!emp_name
                rs.MoveNext
            End If

Next cCont

End Sub

Output:

you can try to modify the code as per your requirement. this is just a sample code I provided you above. so that you can get the idea.

Regards

Deepak

MSDN Community Support