Battery draining faster after windowsphone 8.1 update RRS feed

• Question

• After the update, my battery drains so fast that I begin to wonder if the phone is faulty.
    Tuesday, April 15, 2014 9:16 AM

All replies

• After wp8.1 dev pre. Install Lumia 1320 battery drain fast kindly solve that issue
    • Merged by Eli A Wednesday, April 23, 2014 8:08 PM Merging Threads
    Tuesday, April 15, 2014 2:21 AM
  • I updated to 8.1 this morning and I am finding my Lumia 920 running hot (really hot), even when the screen is off and its not in use, and draining the battery rapidly. Wondering if anyone else is experiencing this?

On the upside I can start porting my apps to winrt. until my phone burns up anyway ;)

p.s. I have tried resetting the phone to defaults + hard reboot. Verified I have no apps running in the background when I turn the screen down and set it on my desk. Always hot in any case.

• Edited by Paul Wade Tuesday, April 15, 2014 2:32 AM
    • Merged by Eli A Monday, April 21, 2014 3:39 PM Merging Thread
    Tuesday, April 15, 2014 2:30 AM
  • Does Battery Saver show any app using the battery? Just an idea...
    Tuesday, April 15, 2014 2:58 AM
  • Hi Paul,

I too experienced the same, but once update was done and everything was complete the device returned to its normal state.

Regards,

Gargi

Tuesday, April 15, 2014 3:01 AM
  • Since it is not an official version there would be some excess battery draining, but well you can limit the background apps & save a bit of battery, follow the following

open battery saver, click on the apps & toggle the allow to run the app in background to "Off" do this for all the apps u don't require them to be running in background.

remember doing so can turn off some features of some apps like live tiles & notifications from the app.

• Proposed as answer by Tiwaash Tuesday, April 15, 2014 9:11 AM
    Tuesday, April 15, 2014 3:04 AM
  • Does Battery Saver show any app using the battery? Just an idea...