none
Subs without params? No automatic idention? RRS feed

• General discussion

• I'm just beginning to use SmallBasic. It's fun! And it's a very promising begin.
    I like the simplicity of the editor: it has only the absolute necessary options to deal with code.
    Intellisense works good too! I haven't miss a reference manual... yet.

But I think it has some drawbacks:

For example, honestly, I cannot understand why subs are paramless. If you want params, you have to use global vars or the Stack.PushValue/PopValue method. I don't know what approach is worse.

Every procedural language handles params transparently to the user. No one has to worry about pushing params to the stack and popping from it, as if it were assembly language.

Think about LOGO: it has procedures with params, and it handles them in a very straighforward way. The user hasn't to deal with variable types as he has to do in C or PASCAL. You can extend the language by writting your own procedures, and they are used the same way you use the bult-in primitives.

If this is a platform for the absolute beginner to start writting programs, things like the Stack object to implement parameter passing contributes to code illegibility, and makes the coder to worry about details that he shoudn't.

Another issue, related to legibility: it would be great if the editor would implement an auto-indent feature. So, after typing a line as "For i=1 to 10", the cursor would move a few characters to the right on the next line, to perform identation. When you type "EndFor", the editor would match this EndFor with the previous For, to start both lines at the same column.

Thanks!
    Tuesday, October 28, 2008 5:23 AM

All replies

• Thanks for the feedback, Mcleod.