none
Automate VM deployment in Azure using Azure Rest API RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Everyone,

I need to automate VM deployment in Azure using Rest API. Azure Powershell and CLI are not an option in my project. I won't be using a client application for the same, all the rest API calls needs to be made via coding (preferably python). 

I need to know how can this be achieved. I have already been through the Microsoft documentation on the same but couldn't hit the correct resolution for my queries.

I will require solution to below points.

• Authentication using Azure Rest API calls via code.
    • Deployment steps of a resource through Azure Rest API calls from a code.
    • Whether keeping the deployment code as an Azure function would work on not
    • All the permissions that need to be set in Azure for the deployment
    • Prerequisite and how can they be setup to perform the actions

Note : I am new to Azure and hence don't have much knowledge even of a beginner.  

Thanks in advance for any and all the help.

Sunday, September 22, 2019 8:40 AM

All replies

• Hello Abhilash,

For your ask on how to automate VM deployment in Azure using python SDK, below are the suggestions for your queries.

• To get started/prerequisites would be to create a Resource Group where you want to deploy the VM's. Go through this document that guides you with the steps.
    • Next is to create a service principal and assign it a contributor access on the previously created Resource Group, so that when the SP is used in code it has appropriate permissions on the RG.
    • For Authentication, please check this document.
    • Yes, you can have the deployment code as Azure Function if you want to go with a serverless architecture, refer this tutorial for creating a Python function.
    • Refer this python sample for managing Azure VM with python.

Please let me know if you still need any other information on this.