none
Alerts for Data Lake Store

Question

• I want to get a message when a folder in ADLS is either created or deleted. 

We ingest data from all kinds of external and internal sources, and store these raw data in separate folders. I want to monitor whenever a new data source is added or deleted, so that I can update the Data Catalog accordingly.

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 8:52 AM

All replies

• I'd be happy to help.  First have you looked at the code samples for ADLS?  What language are you using? 

https://github.com/Azure-Samples/data-lake-store-adls-dot-net-samples 

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/data-lake-store/data-lake-store-data-operations-net-sdk

Guy

Thursday, February 8, 2018 5:42 PM
  • Thanks for your answer, Guy.

Yes, I have looked into the code samples, but I cannot find what I'm looking for.

I'm not an expert on coding, but I've used C# (Visual Studio) to perform some testing. With a lot of help from YouTube on publishing to Azure from VS. 

I was hoping there was a function in Azure I could use to avoid coding, or an example for how to do it. I see there are functions for creating folders in ADLS, and I've tested that, and it worked fine. Maybe there is something similar for checking if "new folder created" or "folder deleted" in ADLS for "the last 24 hours", and if so, "send message to..".

Soffi

Friday, February 9, 2018 10:42 AM
  • Hi Soffi,

You can use Azure Log Analytics to track events from ADLS; this way you should not need to develop any custom code. Here are the steps:

1. Connect your ADLS account to Log Analytics -- you can follow the steps I present in this blog post: Struggling to get insights for your Azure Data Lake Store? Azure Log Analytics can help!
    2. In Log Analytics, go to the Alerts (Preview) section and click on New Alert Rule
    3. Choose the alert target (typically the Log Analytics accountt that is tracking the logs)
    4. Create the alert criteria:

- Click on Add Criteria