none
How to select distinct and count the number of occurrences on for each row RRS feed

• Question

• I tried to google and used Stack overflow but the answers there seems not to give me a result but gave me an ORA error. Hope I find better luck here. I have been at this for 2 days now since I have no experience with complex linq code.

I did my googling and after trying out the answered about distinct select and count on SO, it didn't work for my case.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4884462/linq-distinct-count

So basically I merged multiple tables based on the ID, and I have various other columns as well somethings like this:

ID     TIME     LOC     DEVICE#     MagVal
        1      9122     AB      1          .88
        1      9122     AB      1          .88
        1      9122     AB      2          .88
        2      9133     CD      1          .875
        2      9133     CD      2          .875
        2      9133     CD      3          .876

So I want it to give me 2 lines which is

ID     TIME     LOC     DEVICE#     MagVal
        1      9122     AB      2          .88
        2      9133     CD      3          .875 (This MagVal could be varied)

Monday, September 15, 2014 8:02 PM

Answers

• Hello RozenKristal,

>> So I want it to give me 2 lines which is

Is the DEVICE# also varied? If it is, you could assume the result is combined with three parts: one is ID,Time and LOC, the second part is two columns ID,DEVICE# and the last part is ID, MagVal, so you need to join the table itself twice and provide the collections for both DEVICE# and MagVal, here is an example you could have a check:

List<int> ids = new List<int>() { 1, 3 };

List<string> columns = new List<string>() { "2", "4" };

var result = (from o1 in db.Orders

group new { OrderName = o1.OrderName, OrderID = o1.OrderID } by o1.OrderName into oo1

join o2 in db.Orders on oo1.Key equals o2.OrderName //fetch DEVICE

join o3 in db.Orders on oo1.Key equals o3.OrderName //fetch MagVal