none
Using external CSS file for a page in WebBrowser RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a beginner and after googling for 4 hours I have no clue how to accomplish this. I have a CSS file that applies to Wikipedia pages via Stylish extension on my browser. I want the page on the WebBrowser control to use the same CSS file. Is this even possible?

Thanks for help,

Timo

Thursday, June 28, 2018 8:33 AM

All replies

• Technically speaking having an external CSS file you of course would include it in any web page but having it work without including it is not possible to work on any web page loaded into the web browser. Here is the deal, the WebBrowser control is nowhere near as robust as a normal browser which is why what you ask is not possible.

Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help, this will help others who are looking for solutions to the same or similar problem. Contact via my Twitter (Karen Payne) or Facebook (Karen Payne) via my MSDN profile but will not answer coding question on either.
    VB Forums - moderator
    profile for Karen Payne on Stack Exchange, a network of free, community-driven Q&A sites

Thursday, June 28, 2018 10:28 AM
  • Could I modify the HTML of the page to include the CSS, and then load the modified HTML document in to the WebBrowser? And if so, how?
    Thursday, June 28, 2018 1:09 PM
  • Could I modify the HTML of the page to include the CSS, and then load the modified HTML document in to the WebBrowser? And if so, how?

Nothing I know of. If this was not .NET bases but working directly in HTML/JavaScript you could do the following but not in VB.NET.

$('head').append('<link rel="stylesheet" href="style1.css" type="text/css" />');
    For VB.NET in theory you would need to read the web page, parse for the head section, inject the CSS link, save it then load it.