passing data from view to controller, utilizing model view parameter, and input parameter RRS feed

• Question

• User-1599526732 posted

Hello, 

i am new to MVC and I am using a model view which passes an item from a repository into a creation view, the item has a ID which I want to pass into the controller parameters. I also want to pass a Quantity value which is an input from the user to fulfil the other parameter of the asp-action. I am not sure how to implement this idea, the previous code is in @* *@ where I used to have a quantity variable within but I want to change the implementation.

@model MvcStore.Models.Pet

<div class="col-md-4">
            <form asp-action="CreateConfirmed">
            <input type="hidden" asp-for="PetId" />

@* <div class="form-group">
                <label asp-for="Quantity" class="control-label"></label>
                <input asp-for="Quantity" class="form-control" />
                <span asp-validation-for="Quantity" class="text-danger"></span>
            </div> *@
            <input type="submit" value="Add To Cart" class="btn btn-danger" /> |
            <a asp-action="Index">Back to Shop View</a>
    public async Task<IActionResult> CreateConfrimed(int id, int Quantity)

And this is the parameter I want to fulfil, any ideas?

Wednesday, March 10, 2021 11:11 AM

All replies

• User475983607 posted

You named the Id PetId not Id. 

Change the input paraemter.

public async Task<IActionResult> CreateConfrimed(int PetId)

I strongly recommend going through beginning level tutorials to learn MVC programming basics.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/aspnet/core/tutorials/first-mvc-app/start-mvc?view=aspnetcore-5.0&tabs=visual-studio

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/aspnet/core/data/ef-mvc/?view=aspnetcore-5.0

Wednesday, March 10, 2021 11:50 AM
  • User1429838465 posted

Hey eddy28,

There are a couple of ways to pass data back to the controller.

• Passing Variables (in previously mentioned comment)
    • FormCollection