none
Don't know how to design my program RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I was a VB6 coder for years, and now work mostly in PHP. I want to build an application but I don't know how to go about doing so.

It will be a multi-user quiz-type of application in a GUI format (kind of like a Jeopardy! computer game). Here is a high-level view of the functionality:

On the client side, users will sign in (the request will be verified by the server app and MySQL db on the server), make selections (such as difficulty levels, question categories, and single or 2-player). Then, they'll play the game, either by themselves or against another player who is located elsewhere, by clicking on 1 of 4 possible answers to each question. The first player to click on one of the 4 possible answer buttons will either get it correct or incorrect. Each question will have a point value assigned by the difficulty level of the question. The player who clicked second (or not at all) will not be able to answer the question, but will be able to instantly see that the other player tried to answer the question and if they were successful or not. And so on...

On the server side, the program will verify the user's name and password through MySQL. There will be multiple instances of the game running because n number of players could play n number of games. It will randomly generate a set of questions for each game. It will notify both players if the question was answered correctly or not, showing both users the correct answer. It will have to govern the game by knowing that if the first player is answering a question, the second player can't be allowed to answer. After each question, each client will be able to see in real time what their score is vs the other player's score, and then the next question begins. It will write the final score to the MySQL database and send information to each client, saying who won and lost, and what their scores were.

My Questions: