Toggle between French and English RRS feed

• Question

• User871198859 posted

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to ASP.NET, I've been reading some of the prior posts, but still confused on how to create a bilingual site. What I want to achieve is the following:

I have a master page which ideally would contain a Link Button, that when a user clicks on it, would toggle/switch the language on both the master page and the page in the placecontentholder for example test.aspx.

However, I'm not too sure how to achieve this or what is the best method to do so. Currently I have created resource files for my project (english and french).

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thank you

Joe

Saturday, August 4, 2007 2:12 PM

Answers

• User871198859 posted

Using reponse.redirect(request.url.tostring)  I've been able to refresh the content page, however, my master page is not refreshed.

Does anyone know how to refresh the master page as well?

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, August 6, 2007 1:54 PM

All replies

• User-319574463 posted

Look at http://www.guysmithferrier.com/ and in particular at Guy Smith's book ISBN 0321341384. The book is available online at Safari books at http://safari.oreilly.com/0321341384

Also look at http://www.asp.net/learn/videos/video-40.aspx - it is video on creating multi-lingual sites.

You should switch between languages according to the users language preference set in his browser. 

Saturday, August 4, 2007 2:33 PM
  • User871198859 posted

I figured some of it out, but now I have the current problem:

I currently retrieve the language in a cookie, when the cookie exists, the link button works like a charm, it does the switch.

If the cookie does not exist, and I click on the toggle button, nothing happens. I have to click on it twice before the switch is done. 

Any ideas?

Joe 

Saturday, August 4, 2007 4:54 PM
  • User764555827 posted

Hi Joe,