locked
Close task to update RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hello

    I noticed that there is a change in "Close task to update" functionality from PS2007 to PS2010. In PS 2007 if you closed tasks to updates they were NOT hidden from users; they were still shown in My work list but locked to updates. But in PS2010, if you close tasks to updates, the closed tasks disappear in My work list. OK fine... but why? If I'd want to hide tasks I would set "Publish" to "No" and tasks would be hidden. I think that Close tasks to update functionality should only lock and not hide and that is important if you want to leave users the possibility so they can see the actual work they reported in the past.

    Have I missed anything?

    Sunday, May 29, 2011 7:03 PM

Answers

  • avion007 --

    Yes, I can confirm that what you see regarding the Close Tasks to Update feature is different in Project Server 2010 from Project Server 2007.  I suspect that the feature works differently because Microsoft eliminated most of the indicators that show up in the Indicators column on the Tasks page. So, this means that in the 2010 version, the close task simply disappears, which obviously prevents a team member from reporting progress against it. I know of no way to change this behavior, however.  So, I think you will just need to teach your PMs and TMs how it works in the new version, and leave it at that.  Hope this helps.


    Dale A. Howard [MVP]
    VP of Educational Services
    msProjectExperts
    http://www.msprojectexperts.com
    http://www.projectserverexperts.com
    "We write the books on Project Server"

    • Marked as answer by Tomaz_K Tuesday, May 31, 2011 1:07 PM
    Tuesday, May 31, 2011 12:20 PM

All replies

  • Hmm...

    Any suggestion on this issue? 

    Tuesday, May 31, 2011 12:03 PM
  • avion007 --

    Yes, I can confirm that what you see regarding the Close Tasks to Update feature is different in Project Server 2010 from Project Server 2007.  I suspect that the feature works differently because Microsoft eliminated most of the indicators that show up in the Indicators column on the Tasks page. So, this means that in the 2010 version, the close task simply disappears, which obviously prevents a team member from reporting progress against it. I know of no way to change this behavior, however.  So, I think you will just need to teach your PMs and TMs how it works in the new version, and leave it at that.  Hope this helps.


    Dale A. Howard [MVP]
    VP of Educational Services
    msProjectExperts
    http://www.msprojectexperts.com
    http://www.projectserverexperts.com
    "We write the books on Project Server"

    • Marked as answer by Tomaz_K Tuesday, May 31, 2011 1:07 PM
    Tuesday, May 31, 2011 12:20 PM
  • Thanks.
    Tuesday, May 31, 2011 1:07 PM
  • avion007 --

    You are more than welcome for the help, my friend.  :)


    Dale A. Howard [MVP]
    VP of Educational Services
    msProjectExperts
    http://www.msprojectexperts.com
    http://www.projectserverexperts.com
    "We write the books on Project Server"

    Tuesday, May 31, 2011 1:10 PM
  • Thursday, July 14, 2011 9:09 PM