locked
How can a user edit a save a document that's checked out to another user? RRS feed

  • Question

  • SharePoint Help says the following under the topic "Check out and edit a file":

    When you check out a file from a library on a Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services site, you ensure that others cannot make changes to the file while you edit it. While the file is checked out, you can edit and save the file, close it, and reopen it. Other users cannot change the file or see your changes until you check in the file.

    At a SharePoint site, I've found that User A has a document checked out.  User B (who has the Contribute permission) can edit and save this document.  How is this possible?  It seems to contradict what SharePoint Help says. 

    Also, do security permissions go from top to bottom (site permissions override library permissions which override document permissions) or from bottom to top?

    Thanks.
    Tuesday, January 26, 2010 9:37 PM

Answers

  • Is User B saving the document *in the document library*?

    A user can open a checked out document, make changes, save a copy on his desktop, but he shouldn't be able to save it in the document library.


    Pman
    http://www.pmansLab.com/
    • Proposed as answer by UllasSJoshi Wednesday, January 27, 2010 6:48 AM
    • Marked as answer by Rock Wang– MSFT Thursday, February 4, 2010 7:36 AM
    Wednesday, January 27, 2010 2:48 AM

All replies

  • Is User B saving the document *in the document library*?

    A user can open a checked out document, make changes, save a copy on his desktop, but he shouldn't be able to save it in the document library.


    Pman
    http://www.pmansLab.com/
    • Proposed as answer by UllasSJoshi Wednesday, January 27, 2010 6:48 AM
    • Marked as answer by Rock Wang– MSFT Thursday, February 4, 2010 7:36 AM
    Wednesday, January 27, 2010 2:48 AM
  • Hi,

    i agree with reply of pl7626.the main purpose of check in and check out is to avoid data over writting.
    once the document is in use another user can open the same but cannot make any changes to it, since it will be read only to second user.
    ullasjoshi
    Wednesday, January 27, 2010 6:48 AM