Entity Framework and DataGrid - How do I show data form two tables in one DataGrid and maintain the ability to edit the data RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,

I am using WPF and the Entity Framework to work with a SQL Express database. I am new to WPF, LINQ and the Entity Framework so I created a little project to learn with.

My database has the following tables:

Items: ID, Name, Description, Cost

Inventory: ID, Count, ItemID

where Inventory.ItemID is a foreign key referring to Item.ID

I created an entity model from the SQL database and i have found using the entity objects to be quick and fun. But, I want to create a Data Grid which shows the all Inventory records and the related Item information:

Inventory.Count | Items.Name | Items.Cost | Items.Description

I want only Inventory.Count to be editable. If I was in my home environment of php and webpages I would use the query below to populate the view (hiding the Inventory.ID column) and handle the update post-back myself.

SELECT Inventory.ID, Inventory.Count, Items.Name, Items.Cost, Items.Description
    FROM Inventory
    LEFT JOIN Items
    ON Inventory.ItemID = Items.ID

My attempts so far have only created non-editable view sources. I know I could just code the whole user interface myself as I have done with php and mysql but that seems brutish in this environment when such an elegant DataGrid control is available.

I found another question of a similar nature but it was dated 2009 and only provided general hints:

Entity Framework, Data Relations, and an Updatable Datagrid