why msdn subscription does not support download resume capability RRS feed

• Question

• i have a msdn subscription but i can't resume my downloads

why msdn subscription does not support download   resume capability  ?

Monday, March 4, 2013 4:02 PM

Answers

• It does support resuming downloads, but you have to use the download manager with it.   If you're using IE to conduct your downloads, you'll get prompted to use either the Akamai Download Manager or the Microsoft File Transfer Manager, both of which do support resuming downloads.  If you're using Chrome or Firefox (or using IE and clicking the "Direct Download" option), you'll just get the browser's download manager, which can't resume downloads from our servers.

More information is here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-US/subscriptions/aa948864.aspx. 

Thanks,
    Mike

MSDN and TechNet Subscriptions Support
    Read the Subscriptions Blog!

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 5:40 PM

All replies

• It does support resuming downloads, but you have to use the download manager with it.   If you're using IE to conduct your downloads, you'll get prompted to use either the Akamai Download Manager or the Microsoft File Transfer Manager, both of which do support resuming downloads.  If you're using Chrome or Firefox (or using IE and clicking the "Direct Download" option), you'll just get the browser's download manager, which can't resume downloads from our servers.

More information is here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-US/subscriptions/aa948864.aspx. 

Thanks,
    Mike

Read the Subscriptions Blog!

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 5:40 PM
  • Seems that IE x64 (v9 anyway) doesn't support File Transfer Manager.  You have to use 32 bit IE!

I found this out the hard way, after a download failed to resume somewhere after 1 GB, and IE silently deleted the partial download when I pressed "resume".