My Web Browser RRS feed

• Question

• When i click the link inside my webpage of my visual basic 2008 web browser, it will open a new window of my visual basic 2008 web browser rather than opening internet explorer. How can i do that? Please help me... I'm still learning visual basic.

Sunday, January 25, 2009 12:15 PM

Answers

• You need to handle DWebBrowserEvents2.NewWindow3 event. We can cast the WebBrowser.ActiveXInstance to a SHDocVx.WebBrowser object, then we can add the NavigateError and NewWindow3 event handlers to handle these event. However, you have to add reference to the Microsoft Internet Control in the COM tab on the Add Reference dialog. Here is the code snippet about how to handle the NavigateError event. Actually .net 2.0 webbrowser control is a wrapper of the underlying internet control. It is a com object. Here we can add event handler to the COM object event to implement this. You can use this method to create a multitab webbrowser when a new window is created.

Imports SHDocVw

Public Class Form2

Public Sub New()

Me.InitializeComponent()

Me.WebBrowser1.Navigate("http://www.yahoo.com")

Dim svd As SHDocVw.WebBrowser = DirectCast(Me.WebBrowser1.ActiveXInstance, SHDocVw.WebBrowser)

AddHandler svd.NavigateError, AddressOf Svd_NavigateError

AddHandler svd.NewWindow3, AddressOf NewWindow3

End Sub

Sub Svd_NavigateError(ByVal pDisp As Object, ByRef URL As Object, ByRef Frame As Object, ByRef StatusCode As Object, ByRef Cance As Boolean)

MessageBox.Show("error")

End Sub

Public Sub NewWindow3(ByRef pDisp As Object, ByRef cancel As Boolean, ByVal flags As Integer, _

ByVal URLContext As String, ByVal URL As String)

WebBrowser1.Navigate(URL)

cancel = True

End Sub

End Class

About the DWebBrowserEvents2::NewWindow3 event, visit http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa768288(VS.85).aspx. If you have any further questions, please tell me.

You also can read the following articles about how to extend the current webbrowser control.