none
Procedure for user to "Trust" Publisher is way to cryptic for a everyday user in Word 2010 RRS feed

• Question

• I am a developer of addins for MS Word.  My addin is digitally signed.   My customers (~average MS Word users) hate having to click "Enable Content" on each start of Word. In the past for older versions of Word it seems adding a publisher as "trusted" was much easier.

The procedure to add a company as a Trusted Publisher in Word 2010 to avoid this is way toooo crytic for a common user (see  'Add a trusted publisher via the Trust Center' on this page ).   This is really destroying my sales & causing too many support inquiries. 

Is there a way to make it easier for customers to "Trust" a Word dotm? 

Please Microsoft: i do realize that security is important, but if customers cant easily "Trust" a addin then they wont bother (BOTH WITH MY APP AND EVENTUALLY WITH WORD)... 

Steve Ballmer: if you learn one thing only from Apples success it should be this:  Apps will make or break a platform.  If you make it too difficult for users to run apps/developers to develop/depoly apps in Word then they will eventually switch to something else.

Sorry for the rant... but PLEASE MAKE IT EASIER TO "TRUST" A PUBLISHER !!

Friday, January 21, 2011 12:30 AM

Answers

• Hi Sam

<<Futher to complicate the matter, even if i do use the user profile's Templates location: user still also gets prompted to "Trust" nine (9)  of Microsoft's own addins for when running Word 2010 (using what i think is the default security settings):>>

Never, ever have I seen any prompts for the list you show (and yes, these are things that are distributed as part of Office/Word). I've installed every "flavor" of Office 2010 from Beta 1 through RTM, more than once, and opened Word. No prompts for these things!

Are you seeing this on your own test installations? Are you customizing the setup? If yes, what changes are you making?