Controls on Formview - I guess I have made a fundemental Mistake RRS feed

• Question

• User129150582 posted
    Hi

Hope someone can point me in the right direction here as I am new to vb.net. In summary I have a web application under development which uses a Master page (not sure that is relevant for this issue). There is a page that allows for the selection of a Clients details from an Ajax Toolkit DDL, this then fills the Formview with the relevant data for updating / changing via Textboxes and bound DDL's to other tables via foreign keys. This all works fine, so I thought)

I then added a series of Command buttons to the Formview, that I would use to carry out some specific changes to the current record displayed. I have used the following code to locate the control on the Formview :-
    Public Class clientprocess
        Inherits System.Web.UI.Page

Protected Sub Formview1_Databound(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles FormView1.DataBound

Dim Cmdtxterm As Button = CType(FormView1.FindControl("cmdTXTerm"), Button)
            Dim ddlvenue As DropDownList = CType(FormView1.FindControl("ddlvenue"), DropDownList)
            MsgBox("hi")

End Sub
    The Msgbox fires every time I change to a different client in the Formview, so I know the Databound event is firing. The problem I have is that I have added some code to a button on the Formview to do some date manipulation :-
    Public Sub Cmdtxterm(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs)

Dim ddlVenue As DropDownList = CType(FormView1.FindControl("ddlVenue"), DropDownList)
            Dim ddltermID As DropDownList = CType(FormView1.FindControl("ddltermID"), DropDownList)
            Dim termStartTextBox As TextBox = CType(FormView1.FindControl("termStartTextBox"), TextBox)
            Dim dayofweekOffset As Integer = 0

Dim nextDateCurosr As Integer = 0
            Dim nextDate As Date