none
WCF Architecture Recommendation for a startup RRS feed

• Question

• I am a seasoned developer primarily in mainframe technologies with VB 6/SQL knowledge that is quite rusty (over ten years out of it!). I am working on developing a software idea with the intent of starting my own business and I have spent the past two months tring to get up to speed with Microsoft's technologies. So much has changed since I last had to architect a system from scratch!

Based on what I've read on various forums and in a few Wrox books, I think I know the basic framework that I want to use, but I would like some feedback from the seasoned pros in this forum if that is okay with you. My application will be a personal financial web application (Think Quicken or Microsoft Money, only with some features I will not reveal at this point) where users' data is stored on our central DB stores. I plan on additional UIs for backoffice support and analysis and would like to develop UIs for smartphones as well. With that in mind, I believe an SOA approach would be wise. I would like to expose the data (presumably stored in SQL Server) via WCF or WCF RIA Services (I am not sure which, but RIA sounds like the better fit so far) so that I can use those data services across multiple business objects. I think the business layer will also use WCF so that I can develop the various UIs and maintain consistent business behaviours across the UIs.

The consumer-facing UIs will either be ASP NET MVC 3 or SilverLight. I am not sure which yet. A critical UI requirement will be that I need to show a data grid where every cell is editable. The back-end UIs will either be web-base (same technologies) or WPF.

So, to sum up what I think is the general architecture:  DAL -> WCF (Using Entity Framework?) -> BAL -> WCF - ASP NET MVC/SilverLight/WPF.