none
Save Generated SQL Statement to a Database RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to LINQ. I'd like to save the generated SQL statement from a LINQ to SQL statement and save it to a database. Can someone show me how to do this?
    Saturday, September 26, 2009 2:56 PM

Answers

• Hi Randy,

If you want to analyze the generated statements for debugging purposes, then you can have a look at How to: Display Generated SQL (LINQ to SQL) and LINQ to SQL Debug Visualizer. Another option would be to use LINQPad.

If you want to use the generated SQL for something else, e..g saving it to database, you can use the DataContext.GetCommand() method as
    LinqDataClasses context = new LinqDataClasses();
    var query = from t in context.MyTable 
    string generatedSQL = context.GetCommand(query).CommandText;

Hope that helps,

Regards,

Syed Mehroz Alam
    My Blog | My Articles
    • Marked as answer by Yichun_Feng Tuesday, October 13, 2009 2:56 AM
    Monday, September 28, 2009 4:51 AM
  • Hi Randy,

Welcome to MSDN forums!

I am not exactly sure about your issue. Do you mean to get the generated SQL statements while executing the LINQ to SQL statement?

If it is the case, you have two options:

1) Get the SQL statements by coding.

You can refer to this blog for detail steps:

http://mattberseth.com/blog/2008/01/profiling_linq_to_sql_using_th.html

2) Get the SQL statements manually by SQL Server Profiler.

Before running the project, open SQL Server Profiler under Microsoft SQL Server 200X.Performance Tools.

In the main menu, choose File -> New Trace -> Connect the SQL Server -> Run.

Then, you can run your project and you’ll get the SQL statement in the Profiler.

And you also mentioned that you want to save the SQL statements to database. For example, it is a query statement. I don’t think you can save it to database. However, you can save it as SQL file or other forms files.