Question regarding proper way to store and query sequential numbers ranges (Product ID's) that contain gaps? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I'm quite new to databases so please forgive me if I use incorrect terminology. My problem seems quite simple but I'm having some trouble wrapping my head around how to deal with storing (and querying) ranges of numbers in a database.

What I have is a list of 5 different battery models (which will grow over time to include upwards of 200 models). The model numbers are guaranteed to be unique so I can use them as a primary key in a table. The models each have a number of sequential battery id's associated with them. Unfortunately the battery id's have gaps. For example Model xxx has id's 201-500, 1500-1750; model yyy has 501-700, 1751-2000, etc..

What I'd like to do is create a table in a database such that I can query on a single battery id and return the model (and some additional information such as manufacturer, capacity, type, etc). I'm not sure what the proper way to set up such a table is. It seems that creating an individual row for each battery id would be an unnecessary waste of space. What I'm having trouble understanding is how to deal with the gaps in the battery id's.

I'm a bit stuck at the moment so any advice or resources on how to approach the problem would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Alex

Tuesday, September 6, 2011 5:50 PM

Answers

• OK, i think i may be understanding this a bit better.

If the individual batteries have properties stored in the TABLE, the appropriate method is to have a Model and Battery TABLE.

If the ids, however, are merely a record of number printed, a range can be kept in a child TABLE. Something like:

Model
    -------
    Name
    Description

Model_Range
    ---------------
    Model
    Id_Begin
    Id_End

The query would be:

SELECT
    	Model.Description
    FROM
    	Model,
    	Model_Range
    WHERE
    	Model_Range.Model	= Model.Name