ldap queries in sql format RRS feed

• Question

• User-59642099 posted

Hi,

I'm very new to the ldap and .net, and have logged countless hours this last week trying figure this stuff you. You will be proud to know that with this website and other resources I have finally connected and am pulling info out of the directory. Whew...but....

I have an older code example (asp 3.0) that shows the queries being done in sql syntax. This is much easier than what I have seen so far. Here is an example:

Dim oCon

Dim oCmd

Dim oRs

oCon = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")

oCmd = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Command")

oCon.Provider = ("ADsDSOObject")

oCon.Open("Active Directory Provider")

oCmd.ActiveConnection = oCon

oCmd.CommandText = "SELECT AdsPath FROM 'LDAP://xxx.xxx.xxx:389/ou=people,ou=intranet,dc=xxx,dc=com' WHERE uid='xxx'"

....blah, blah, blah

Now ,  I can run this code in my page by selecting ASPCOMPAT="TRUE" in the page directive, but I'd like to be able to do this in .NET.

Is there a way to query ldap in asp .net /vb .net with an sql string? Seems cleaner to me, but that's probably because I have experience with SQL and not so much with LDAP and VB .NET. Doesn't the SQL format make it easier to plug into a DATASET rather than building it manually like in the examples I have seen here?

Thanks all for your time!

Wednesday, March 29, 2006 1:52 AM

All replies

• User1354132231 posted
    The SQL format embodies everything that is wrong and evil with ADO and LDAP and my eyes are burning just looking at it.  ;)

Sorry, but the SQL format is really crappy for LDAP and you are much better off learning the simple, native format.  As you have found, the wonky SQL format is only supported using the wonky ADO recordset format, which is only supported using the wonky legacy ADO.