GridView Edit, Update and Delete RRS feed

• Question

• User-1717698715 posted

Folks i am new to ASP.NET. I have used a GridView control to populate data from Oracle database using NHibernate. It is working fine. Now i want to add edit delete and update functionality into the grid. I have added the Edit and Delete columns and i have also written event handlers for RowEditing, RowUpdating. In the RowUpdating event, i try to get the NewValues and OldValues but i am not able to get them as NewValues.Count and OldValues.Count = 0. Can any one explain why the Count = 0? and How can i get new and old values?

Here is my GridView

<asp:GridView ID="ptclGrid" runat="server" AutoGenerateColumns="False"
                            CssClass="gridServices"
                            onrowdeleting="ptclGrid_RowDeleting" onrowediting="ptclGrid_RowEditing"
                            onrowupdated="ptclGrid_RowUpdated" onrowupdating="ptclGrid_RowUpdating"
                             DataKeyNames="ID">

And here is my event handler code

protected void ptclGrid_RowUpdating(object sender, GridViewUpdateEventArgs e)
          {
            //IOrderedDictionary dictionary = e.NewValues;
            //ICollection keys = dictionary.Keys;
            //ICollection values = dictionary.Values;

int keyCount = e.Keys.Count;
              int NewValueCount = e.NewValues.Count;
              int OldValueCount = e.OldValues.Count;
              int rowIndex = e.RowIndex;

foreach(DictionaryEntry entry in e.Keys)
            {

}

}

Pl note that keyCount, NewValueCount, OldValueCount = 0 despite the fact that i am updating the values....

Can any one help

Thursday, March 11, 2010 7:54 AM

Answers

• User626880745 posted

CssClass="gridServices"
                             DataKeyNames="ID">

Can any one explain why the Count = 0?

Since you have not associated a datasource control with your gridview these collections would not be populated. you will need to extract those values manually.