Beginner question III - tier for windows forms application RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm a client-server programmer new to III tier aproach.

Ok, i understand benefits of III layer, dividing funtionality in diferenents components that can optionally run in differents servers, i'm learning with GoF and Fowler patterns books.
    But I don't know if i need to run layers in differents servers. The principal reason i've found to III-tier is that in client-server architecture every client hold a connection to the database, and because connection are resource intensive, system doesn't scale.Text talk about thousands of clients is imposible for client-server system.
    But nowadays ram is cheap so with and estimation of even 1mb per client connection, 2000 clients would need 2gb for the server, not much memory.
    Other reason is deployment problems but click once solves this problem.

How many clients justify the lag of inter-process comunication of adding a new tier?

Thanks.

Tuesday, August 22, 2006 4:49 PM

Answers

• Tiziano,

just in few words, the move from Client Server to Three layers is justified when you need

-Enable more than one channel (mobile devices, rich desktops, web access, etc) with different capabilities

-Apply some degree of resources economy, for instance if your database license is allowed for a definite number of concurrent connections

-You want to centralize the access of several back-end behind a sort of "Facade" (consider CRM applications that needs to access more than one database, external system). This facade is usually referred as "the middleware"

The layers are, at least, logical, not necessarily physical. Surely the client front-ends will be in a separated layer, but the middleware usually lives in the same server as the primary database

This books were really helpful for me:

Smart Client Architecture and Design Guide
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/architecture/default.aspx?pull=/library/en-us/dnpag/html/scag.asp