none
Need help with Code First Entity Framework RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings,

I am new to entity framework and code first.  I just went through the following tutorial.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/data/jj193542

I entered the code exactly as it is in the video but I am getting the follow exception when it is executing the first line of the using statement "using (var db = new BlogContext())"

InvalidOperationException type ' CodeFirstNewDatabaseSample.Program.Blog' was not mapped.

Thanks

Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:19 PM

Answers

• Hi Jon;

Simple issue to correct. When you created the three classes Blog, Post and BlogContext you created them as internal classes to Class Program and when Entity Framework went to create them they were not able to find them because they were hidden by class Program. Move the } next to last line just before class Blog as shown below.

namespace CodeFirst1
    {
        internal class Program
        {
            private static void Main(string[] args)
            {
                using (var db = new BlogContext())
                {
                    Console.WriteLine("enter name");
                    var name = Console.ReadLine();

var blog = new Blog() {Name = name};
                    db.Blogs.Add(blog);
                    db.SaveChanges();

var q = from b in db.Blogs
                            orderby b.Name
                            select b;

foreach (var item in q)
                    {
                        Console.WriteLine(item.Name);
                    }

Console.ReadLine();
                }
            }
        }  // This line was moved from the next to last line in the file to here

public class Blog
        {
            public int BlogID { get; set; }
            public string Name { get; set; }
            public virtual List<Post> Posts { get; set; }

}

public class Post
        {
            public int PostID { get; set; }
            public string Title { get; set; }