none
Simple WCF service MSDN example RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I am completely new to WCF so before I start developing WCF which I will use in my application I wanted to try few samples to see what it is all about.

Well although trying few examples (see below) I can't make it work.

1. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd938879.aspx

2. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc488004%28v=vs.90%29.aspx

1 and 2 are type of wcf service I will need in the end.

I decided above two are a little to complicated for a newbie. So I went and tried the simplest one possible 3. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb386386.aspx?cs-save-lang=1&cs-lang=vb#code-snippet-1

I did everything according to sample 3 and when I run the application on the same computer service also runs everything works fine, I get back from service text that application sends to service.

But when I try the same thing with application that is on some other computer (in the same network (192.168.1.x - service, 192.168.1.y - application) I get unhandled exception:

I guess it is something with the IP addresses from the machine where I run the application the request is not getting to the computer that is hosting service.

Could someone help me with this.

Best regards,

Greg

************** Exception Text **************
    System.InvalidOperationException: Could not find default endpoint element that references contract 'ServiceReference1.IService1' in the ServiceModel client configuration section. This might be because no configuration file was found for your application, or because no endpoint element matching this contract could be found in the client element.
       at System.ServiceModel.Description.ConfigLoader.LoadChannelBehaviors(ServiceEndpoint serviceEndpoint, String configurationName)
       at System.ServiceModel.ChannelFactory.ApplyConfiguration(String configurationName)