none
Dual boot scenario: Accessing and calling SQL Server that resides on the non active OS RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings,

I have a cad program for work that will only function with MDAC 2.8, and therefore XP.  Forget about trying to run it on a different OS than XP, if won't even let you install.  I quite like windows 7 and don't want to be resricted to XP simply because of this program.  I use it everyday however, so I need to find a solution.

It should be noted I'm no developer and just have a tinkering mind.  I assume somewhere out there is a solution to mount an earlier version of MDAC/SQL/Jet -  whatever, on Windows 7 through a virtual drive or something else creative.  I started looking for a solution but wasn't finding anything that seemed obvious.

Out of frustration I just wiped my computer and installed windows 7 and XP in a dual boot configuration.  Not ideal at all but it's a start.

I was tinkering the other day and wondered, from windows 7, if there was a possibility that I could call upon the program.

From W7, I explored to my other drive that has XP and my program on it, created a short cut, and put it on the dektop of w7.

I wasn't expecting anything to happen but when I double clicked on it, I got a pop up asking saying "no hardware key found" (the program has a security measure requring you to insert a usb key before it will launch). 

I was really surprised that the program actually tried to initalize.  I put my key card in, praying it would work, but I got a no data sources or engine found - I forget the exact message, but it's clear that SQL and the other necessary database components are"sleeping" in XP when I am logged into W7.