I need help please RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to the programming world. I'm currently going to college for game software development and I'm in my 8th week of my fundamentals of programming class. I would normally go to my instructor, but her responses aren't always quick. Anyways, I'm in need of someone who can explain to me how to do the following:

Individual assignment:

When developing more difficult programs, it is important for us to take an incremental approach. We start by developing the simplest program and then we make small modifications to it until it evolves into our final result. Try to keep a functional program at all times.

First, write a simple program that will read 5 numbers from the Console (user input).  Store these values into an array of int [].  Using the length of the array in a for() loop and decrementing the loop counter, write the array values in reverse order to the screen.   This is step one and may be enough for partial credit. If you have difficulty with this, try seeking some assistance from your instructor before going on to step two.

Next, add code to read 5 words from the Console (user input).  Store these values into an array of string [].  Make sure the string[] array is large enough to hold at least 6 values. Store the string constant “end_of_array” into the last element of the array. Using a do…while() loop, print out the 1st and 3rd letters of each word (two letters per line) using the substring function.  This is step two and should ensure you at least a passing grade.

I know how to get the numbers from the console, what I am lost with is how to get them to be stored in an array, or how to use the length of the array in a for() loop for that matter. Even more confusing is how to get it to spit the numbers back out in reverse order. Any help will be greatly appreciated.