none
High Availability and Site Recovery RRS feed

• Question

• I wasn't quite sure which forum to put this under but I have a few questions about HA and Site Recovery. The scenario is that we want to put a single Windows 2019 VM up in Azure and run a server for a particular application that will allow a few remote users to connect using the client side of that same software. The software is basically used for scanning images from a workstation and having it sent to this server.

We don't really need load balancing or clustering as far as performance goes, so a single VM should be able to handle the workload. What we ARE concerned about is avoiding downtime during disasters or outages and making sure that we don't lose data when something unexpected happens. I'm pretty new to Azure and I came across HA Sets, HA Zones, Backups, and Site Recovery. I'm trying to figure out which of these would be our best bet. I know that backups are a must. It's the others that are confusing me.

High Availability
    Please correct me if I'm wrong here. This seems like I'd need two identical VMs, effectively doubling the cost. One would act as the primary VM that everyone is initially connecting to and using while the other would be the backup/secondary. If the first goes down then it automatically switches to the secondary and the end-users can barely tell that things have swapped over, even if they are in the middle of scanning something in the client-side of software.

1. Does this require that I create and pay for two identical VMs in Azure and have them both running at all times?

2. If the above answer is yes, does that mean we'll pay twice as much as having a single VM or is there some sort of break in the price because MS knows we will only be connecting to the primary server while the second will only be used for emergencies?

3. Do HA Zones require both a load balancer and scale set even if we don't need to split the workload?