C++/CX ComboBox ItemsSource - Vector & Arrays

Question

• Hello

I am a novice developer

This is a trivial question though I am developing a Windows Store app and I'm having some difficulty in setting up the ItemsSource property of a Combobox. I am using a MVVM methodology in C++/CX with the Model coded in native C++.

I tried setting up the data in the Model as an Enum, Array and now a Vector but I can't seem to get it working, I'm receiving different errors from unresolved symbols to can't cast overloaded functions.

Can someone please help me.

In short, I have a set of strings which I need to be the data that feeds into the combobox. I would like it setup in this fashion.

MODEL - Contains native C++ and holds the data that feeds into the combobox

VIEW-MODEL - Binds the data to the combobox in the model

MODEL Allows the user to select a value which then raises an event back to the view-model

Any help would be much appreciated

Thank you

Monday, September 23, 2013 3:41 AM

Answers

• Some code samples and error messages would be helpful. In a situation like this I usually define a custom class with a property of the string value I want to display and give the class the Bindable attribute. I then define a Vector<myclass>, fill it with my custom class objects and assign the vector to the combobox ItemsSource. In XAML I use an Itemtemplate with a TextBlock control and bind the class property to the Text of the TextBlock control.
    Monday, September 23, 2013 1:25 PM
  • Hi YLD_1,

Welcome to MSDN forum!

According to your description. I advise you to use IVector instead of Vector. The error you has got is exposed that you are using some types which is not supported on WINRT type system.

Windows::Foundation::Collections::IVector<Platform::String^>^ App::get()
    {
    	Platform::Collections::IVector<Platform::String^>^ _financialYear =
    	ref new Platform::Collections::IVector<Platform::String^>();
    	return _financialYear;
    }