none
Question about Kinect dev RRS feed

• Question

• I am working on a game that requires motion tracking and am considering using the Kinect for this purpose. As I dig into the Kinect info I am not sure if it is even a viable tool. One thing that concerns me is whether the kinect is accurate and fast enough to produce good results in real time. I also can't find any indication that the Kinect will continue to be supported. If I do use the Kinect will I be starting with obsolete technology that is just going to be dumped?

Any advice is appreciated, I am new to this so I hope I'm in the right place.

Thanks

Friday, January 20, 2017 11:07 PM

Answers

• About accuracy: we've been working with kinectV2 for quite some time now, and we can say it's pretty accurate. About speed, in good conditions it delivers 30 frames per second, so you essentially receive the skeleton frame of the user in almost real time.

About the future of the Kinect:

We're all in the same boat and we can only speculate; last year we were promised an update to support UWP, but what we got is very dissapointing and limited, and it really gives us concerns about the future of Kinect, I would lie if I don't say we're looking for alternatives in case the kinect goes down.

On the other hand, this year we're seeing VR technology is getting a lot of attention, and in one way or another, VR needs some sort of unconstrained body tracking technology, so it may happen that thanks to that, the kinect might receive a new breath of life.

Vicente Penades

• Edited by Vicente Penades Monday, January 23, 2017 12:37 PM
    • Marked as answer by GM192 Monday, January 23, 2017 11:49 PM
    Saturday, January 21, 2017 9:31 AM

All replies

• About accuracy: we've been working with kinectV2 for quite some time now, and we can say it's pretty accurate. About speed, in good conditions it delivers 30 frames per second, so you essentially receive the skeleton frame of the user in almost real time.