New to the Data Mining business RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to this data-mining business.
    I would like for someone to point me in the right direction, plese.

In my business - I will have a database with several tables (let's assume MS SQL Server).

For the sake of example, I have a 'person' table and an 'purchases' table (each person can make several different purchases).

Here is an example of the 'person' table:

- ID, First Name, Last Name, Address, Date of Birth

Here is an example of the 'purchase' table:

- Date of Purchase, Time of Purchase, Store Location, Number of Items Purchased, Total Purchase Amount

What I would like to do is:
    I would like to perform 'data-mining' in order to find out the "categories", or "groups" of charecaristics, that define each 'purchase amount".

For example - I would like to know what is common for all the people who bought between 2,000$ and 2,500$ ?

Was it that they all came from the same neighbourhood ?

Maybe all of them were young & came from the same neighbourhood?

Maybe there are 2 distinct different groups that fit the '2000$-2500$' spending group ?

From what I understand, this falls under the 'data-mining' region.

Is this true ? and if so, what are the tools I must use in order to find out these set of parameters that define the different groups for each pricing category?

Thank you very much !

John

Friday, December 9, 2011 3:28 PM

Answers

• To get you started;

You can create a Mining model using Decision Tree algorithm using SSAS BIDS. Your case table will be Person's and nested table will be Purchase.

-----

THIS IS THE LIST OF 'GROUPED COLUMNS' WE FOUND THAT RESULT IN SPENDING OF 2,000-2,500 DOLLARS:

- All the males in the age of 20-22, who purchase in the morning

- All the people (male & female) in the age of 65-70, who purchase in the night more than 20 items

- All the females that purchase more than 41 items