IIS getting rid of username and password authentication prompt RRS feed

• Question

• User1391312845 posted

Hi,

First of all, I'm a newbie, so forgive me.  I'm running IIS 5.1 on Windows XP Pro and I'm just trying to do something really simple.

I'm just trying to test out loading a page on from my local computer, http://localhost/localstart.asp". When I run this local address on Firefox, it loads the page fine without any username/password authentication box.

But when I run this in IE 7, a username/password authentican prompt always appears.  I'm trying to get rid of this prompt, so I can load the page without typing in any username/password.

And even when I enter the username and password in the authentication prompt, it still cannot log me in or give me access to the page.

THINGS I HAVE TRIED:

1. Enabling Anonymous access and allowing IIS to control password.

2. Enabling Anonymous access NOT allowing IIS to control password.

3. Disabling Anonymous access, but enabling Integrated Windows authentication.

I really need to get this fixed.  Please advise. Thanks!

Tuesday, April 7, 2009 3:47 AM

Answers

All replies

• User1632528892 posted

Hi,

What status code (error) do you see in your log files if you browse using IE7 now ? Try disabling 'Show Friendly Error Messages' in your browser.

See if these KB articles help at all :

"HTTP 500.100 - Internal Server Error - ASP Error" Error Message When Opening Default Web Site on Local Computer

Internet Explorer May Prompt You for a Password

Regards,

Tuesday, April 7, 2009 5:01 AM
  • User-823196590 posted

There are two pieces to authentication - the IIS settings and NTFS file permissions.

Make sure that the IUSR_yourcomputername account has NTFS Read permissions to your content folder and files (C:\inetpub\wwwroot by default).

Tuesday, April 7, 2009 9:52 AM
  • User1391312845 posted

How and where can i check to see if the IUSR_yourcomputername account has NTFS Read permissions?