I am using PCLStorage - where are the files going to? RRS feed

• Question

• User206855 posted

Visual Studio 2015, Xamarin forms, PCL project, using PCLStorage. I am new to this stuff. Am I reading this wrong, in that I think that I only need to have the code in the Portable project, or do I need something in each separate project (IOS, Android, etc)? Here is the code (which I have tried in debug and release)...

//https://github.com/dsplaisted/PCLStorage //http://www.nudoq.org/#!/Packages/PCLStorage/PCLStorage/FileSystemFolder/M/CreateFolderAsync IFolder rootFolder = FileSystem.Current.LocalStorage;

try
         {
             string context = "this is a test file";
             string filename = "lou.txt";
             IFile file = await rootFolder.CreateFileAsync(filename, CreationCollisionOption.ReplaceExisting);
             await file.WriteAllTextAsync(context);
             System.Diagnostics.Debug.WriteLine("LocalStorage: (" + rootFolder.Path + ")");
             System.Diagnostics.Debug.WriteLine("Saved: (" + file.Path + ")"); 
         }
         catch (Exception ex)
         {
             await DisplayAlert("Error message: ", ex.Message, "OK"); 
         }
         await DisplayAlert("Noerrors: ", "Is  file there?", "OK");

ExistenceCheckResult exist = await rootFolder.CheckExistsAsync("lou.txt");
         if (exist == ExistenceCheckResult.FileExists)
         {
             await DisplayAlert("File Exists?", "Yes, file does exist", "OK"); 
         }
         else
             await DisplayAlert("File Exists?", "No, file does NOT exist", "OK");

Whether I execute this on the Android Droid emulator, or on my actual Galaxy edge phone, it runs, but I can never find the files afterwards. the System.Diagnostics.debug.writelines, show this )...

[0:] LocalStorage: (/data/user/0/SurveyCheck.Droid/files) [0:] Saved : (/data/user/0/SurveyCheck.Droid/files/lou.txt)