Creating a Lightwitch Database Using a Script RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Visual Studio 2012/Lightswitch and am having trouble creating a SQL Express database at the command prompt using a script file. The process errors out. What am I doing wrong?

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\cdm>sqlcmd -S .\SQLEXPRESS -i "C:\Temp\CreateAquarium.sql"
    Sqlcmd: Error: Microsoft SQL Server Native Client 11.0 : SQL Server Network Inte
    rfaces: Error Locating Server/Instance Specified [xFFFFFFFF]. .
    Sqlcmd: Error: Microsoft SQL Server Native Client 11.0 : Login timeout expired.
    Sqlcmd: Error: Microsoft SQL Server Native Client 11.0 : A network-related or in
    stance-specific error has occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server
    . Server is not found or not accessible. Check if instance name is correct and i
    f SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. For more information see
     SQL Server Books Online..

C:\Users\cdm>

Thursday, February 7, 2013 12:19 AM

Answers

• VS 2012 installs a new piece of functionality in SQL Express called LocalDb. Rather than a full-blown installed instance, it's designed for devlopers who have no knowledge of installing & configuring a SQL instance.

To access it in SSMS, you use (LocalDb)\v11.0 as the server name. In a command string it'd be Data Source =(LocalDb)\v11.0; plus the rest of your connection string.

This blog post will give you a more detailed explanation:

Introducing LocalDB, an improved SQL Express

You'll need SSMS 2012 though, SMS 2008 won't know how to connect to LocalDb. You can install another instance of SQL Express, but there's no need to, once you know the "trick" of how to access LocalDb.

Yann - LightSwitch Central - Click here for FREE Themes, Controls, Types and Commands