Assembly and key signing noob question RRS feed

• Question

• Hello.  I am a noob C# developer and I have a question that is hard to ask because I don't know anything about assemblies or keysigning.

I am trying to get a program to compile that I downloaded off the inet but I am getting the following error.

Error 2 Cryptographic failure while signing assembly 'C:\Documents and Settings\cstodgell\Desktop\MessageBeeper\obj\Release\MessageBeepTest.exe' -- 'Error reading key file '..\..\..\..\..\Keyfile.snk' -- The system cannot find the file specified. ' MessageBeepTest

this error is produced from the following line of code:

[assembly: AssemblyKeyFile("..\\..\\..\\..\\..\\Keyfile.snk")]

I would like to know more about assemblies (what they are for, how they are used, etc. etc) but I can't find any good sources on the i-net that explains jsut what the F is goin on. 

Thanks.
    Tuesday, September 2, 2008 4:55 PM

Answers

• Hi -

I'm not sure of your level of experience with development in general, so I'm not sure how basic to go.  But I will assume some previous experience working with some kind of programming or software development tools.

Assemblies are the core component of a .NET application, and are what the Compiler will output when it successfully compiles your project.

When you compile a .NET project or solution, the output is one or more .NET Assemblies.  Most frequently, your compiled project will be either an Executable (.exe) or  a Dynamic Link Library (.dll).  Executables are programs that can run on their own, while .dlls are libraries that are used by other executables, and cannot be run on their own.