Cannot open include file RRS feed

• Question

• Let me say up front I have no experience with C++, however I have been tasked with supporting a multi-project application that contains 3 VS C++ projects.

After creating a new dev branch in tfs, I updated the Additional Library Directories links to reflect the change.  I have done this before and did was able to build the project successfully.  This time however, I am getting errors similar to the following, "Cannot open include file: 'xercesc/util/XMLString.hpp': No such file or directory.  I have added the path to the Additional library property, "C:\Development\ThirdParty\xercesc" and "C:\Development\ThirdParty\xercesc\util". 

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Visual Studio 2010

.NET Framework 4

Friday, October 17, 2014 6:11 PM

Answers

• Sorry for the delayed response, I'm not getting alerts on this thread.

#include "xercesc/util/XMLString.hpp"

Complete path name of file: C:\Development\ThirdParty\xercesc\util\XMLString.hpp

Not certain what you mean by non-library list of the linker libraries.

A variation of the path, "C:\Development\ThirdParty\xercesc\util" was in the

Additional Library Directories property when I took over support for the app. I updated

the path because the location of the xercesc folder was changed. The actual filename

was/is not include. Hope I am making sense.

I don't know what you mean by "A variation of the path ..." but if your project says to search directory C:\Development\...\uitl then your #include directive should specify only the file name and none of the directories.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014 7:37 AM

Complete path name of file: C:\Development\ThirdParty\xercesc\util\XMLString.hpp

Additional Library Directories property when I took over support for the app. I updated

the path because the location of the xercesc folder was changed. The actual filename

Hi,