none
Apply Checkpoint using PowerShell RRS feed

• Question

• How do I use MSVM_VirtualSystemSnapshotService.ApplySnapshot() or just how do I monitor the job to apply a checkpoint/snapshot on Windows Server 2012 using PowerShell 2.0?  I am new to powershell and think I am missing some basic understanding.

I am trying to setup a test environment and have been following the 2011 post by Virtual PC Guy. blogs.msdn.com/b/virtual_pc_guy/archive/2011/10/19/applying-a-snapshot-via-powershell-hyper-v.aspx

However, this was clearly written for Server 2008 and I am using Server 2012.  The MSVM_VirtualSystemManagementService no longer has a method ApplyVirtualSystemSnapshot(MSVM_ComputerSystem, MSVM_VirtualSystemSettingData).  Instead I found the Hyper-V WMI V2 classes; like MSVM_VirtualSystemSnapshotService with the description "Service to create, apply, and destroy snapshots of virtual machines."  The ApplySnapshot method has 2 parameters; MSVM_VirtualSystemSettingData [in] and MSVM_ConcreteJob [out].  Ultimately, I think I correctly modified the script to find and apply the snapshot with the exception that I can't get any details about the job.

If I pass a $null object to ApplySnapshot then it will run and return 4096, indicating the job is in progress.  I can check Hyper-V Manager and the checkpoint/snapshot was indeed applied.  However, I can't get any details about the job.  If I try,

$VMSS = Get-WMiObject -class Msvm_VirtualSystemSnapshotService -namespace $VM_namespace

$Snapshot = $VM.GetRelated("Msvm_VirtualSystemSettingData") | where {$_.ElementName -eq $VM_snapshot} | select -first 1

$output_job = $null

$result = $VMSS.ApplySnapshot($Snapshot, $output_job)

$result

Then I get, Job: \\computername\root\virutalization\v2:Msvm_ConcreteJob.InstanceID="..." ReturnValue: 4096.