TFS GIT Usage RRS feed

• Question

• I admit I am new to using GIT for version control.  We decided to try using it on a new project.  I created the repository in TFS and have started doing some of the code with a co-worker.  Each time my coworker does a check-in and I do a Sync, his changes appear in my list of changes and then I end up also checking in his changes to the repository.  I have tried to search the internet for information on this to determine if I am doing something wrong or if I have something configured wrong but was unable to find anything.  Can anyone on the form here provide information as to what is happening and what the proper way of supporting this is?
    Wednesday, March 2, 2016 4:37 PM

Answers

• Upon further investigation it seems that when a ".gitattributes" file gets added to the workspace that I start to see the changes made by other developers when I do a "sync".  If I remove the file then those changes go away and I only see my changes when I do a check-in.
    Friday, March 4, 2016 7:46 PM

All replies

• Hi A.Gritt,     

Thanks for your post.

It seems you’re using the correct steps.

For more information about how to use GIT in TFS Server, please start from these documents: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/vs/alm/code/git/overview.

We are trying to better understand customer views on social support experience, so your participation in this interview project would be greatly appreciated if you have time. Thanks for helping make community forums a great place.
    Click HERE to participate the survey.

Thursday, March 3, 2016 3:23 AM
  • Upon further investigation it seems that when a ".gitattributes" file gets added to the workspace that I start to see the changes made by other developers when I do a "sync".  If I remove the file then those changes go away and I only see my changes when I do a check-in.
    Friday, March 4, 2016 7:46 PM
  • Hi Acgritt,    

Thanks for your reply.