none
Entity Framework... Jump on board? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a student in programming and web development. So far I've always created my own data access layers which communicate with the database by loading up parameters and calling a sproc, then return a datatable/reader/etc... Now that I've started messing around with ASP.NET MVC with EF & Code First, I'm wondering if it's worth it. I like the way I've been taught and I understand it pretty good, but I also like the RAD that comes with the other option. One thing I don't like is that it seems every time I start to grasp certain ways of doing things, there's something new that comes out and I need to start all over again. 

I'd like to know which way is going to be most common I guess, and go that route. I like the idea of something new as well. But I feel I have less control over what's going on. I'm used to designing the database and writing the stored procedures and using my DAL to call back the info I require. To me, it seems to work in all situations and allows great flexibility. Now I haven't been doing this for long so I may be wrong as well.

If I choose to learn EF what sort of limitations will I have? Also, is Code First worth getting into? I'm not talking for simple web applications. Basically I'm prepping myself to develop an ecommerce solution for auto parts sales. Typically like the ones you see where you select your make/model/year and then the categories of available parts are listed and each category holds a list of parts, etc... 

What are your thoughts?

Friday, December 23, 2011 8:15 PM

Answers

• EF provides a HUGE benefit in terms of productivity.  You're trading some of the fine grained control for a large productivity boost and a lot of consistency.