none
What are the OnError symantics?

Question

• Hi,
      I'm having some inconsitent behavior using Subject.OnError. Sometimes it works fine and other times it throws inside OnError. The difference is if I have a subscriber that consumes err on the other end. Here is some psuedo code:
    Subject<string> s1 = new Subject<string>();
    Subject<string> s2 = new Subject<string>();

s1.Subscribe(a => Console.WriteLine(a), err => {}, () => {});

/// No throw
    s1.OnError (new Exception("boom"));

/// undealt with exception thrown next line:
    s2.OnError (new Exception("boom"));
    Is this proper behavior? Should all IObservables I create behaive this way? It seems odd because in some sense the behavior of the Subject's subscribers.

Cheers, Gordon.
    Gordon
    Tuesday, January 19, 2010 9:26 AM

Answers

• Hi Gordon,

If you try s1.Subscribe(Console.WriteLine), without passing in a value for onError, then s1 behaves like s2.  The point, it seems, is that if any subscribers claim to be able to handle the error then it won't be thrown; if not, then the error is thrown so that it will be seen by the application.  This prevents an error going unnoticed, unless of course you use something like your example: ex => {}, but that's just like doing

try {
    }
    catch {}

to ignore all exceptions.

I believe this behavior is the same for all IObservables, not just Subject<T> implementations.

There's a Channel 9 video that discusses this behavior a bit:

http://channel9.msdn.com/posts/J.Van.Gogh/Reactive-Extensions-API-in-depth-Subscribing/ 

- Dave
    http://davesexton.com/blog
    • Marked as answer by GordonTWatts Tuesday, January 19, 2010 7:13 PM
    Tuesday, January 19, 2010 3:12 PM

All replies

• Hi Gordon,