none
Major problems with Entity Framework and VS2008 RRS feed

• Question

• I have Oracle 10g (32 bit) client installed on a Windows 7 Sp2 machine because that's what they told me to use.  The Oracle software seemed to install correctly. (I think.)  I have a massive solution in VS2008 (C#) containing 12 projects that I know absolutely nothing about.  The solution will not compile and the first error is: Unable to find the requested .Net Framework Data Provider.  It may not be installed. (in an edmx). 

Where do I even begin to start trouble-shooting this one?  I have no experience at all with Oracle.  I am unable to create a connection in the Server Explorer either, even though it does show a Net Framework Data provider for Oracle.

Saturday, July 9, 2011 9:00 PM

Answers

• If you have not been able to resolve it by now my advice would be - start small. Forget about your big project for a moment and create a simple console application. Create a very simple database in your Oracle database that contains only one table with just 2 columns - Id (primary key) and a string column. Use a wizard to create a model from this database. One of the steps would be to select a provider that will be used to connect to database and then the database itself. If the Oracle provider is not on the list then you will know that you are missing something. If it is there and you are able to generate a model from the database then you will know that your dev environment is fine. If you get to this point start playing a little bit with EF - try add a new entity to the context and save. Check what was saved in the database. Then try reading entities from your database and see what you get. This will allow you to get familiar with EF and will help you understand the code (and possibly the issues) you see.

Hope this helps and good luck.

Pawel

Wednesday, July 20, 2011 5:11 PM

All replies

• On 7/9/2011 5:00 PM, B. Chernick wrote: