none
Adding reference to System.Data.Entity doesn't help RRS feed

• Question

• I'm getting the error "The type 'System.Data.Entity.DbContext' is defined in an assembly that is not referenced. You must add a reference to assembly 'EntityFramework, Version=5.0.0.0, blahblahblah' So I've tried adding a reference to System.Data.Entity in add references, and I've also tried adding the strong name reference inside of the assemblies tag which is inside of compilation tag in web.config. I added the tag <add assembly="EntityFramework, Version=5.0.0.0, blahblahblah" /> where the part inside the quotes didn't have the blahblahblah but had the entire string copied from the error message and pasted into the quotes within the add tag. Neither of these methods for adding is getting the compiler to recognize that the assembly is being referenced. Any help? If you can ansewr, I will mark, I'm an expert marksman. Thanks, James
    • Moved by Amanda Zhu Tuesday, May 28, 2013 2:22 AM move to a more appropriate forum
    Friday, May 24, 2013 4:00 PM

All replies

• It took me awhile the 1st time I saw this message but finally figured it out a couple of years ago.  Sart by adding the following library reference in the Project - Add Reference - Net tab

PresentationFramework

jdweng

Friday, May 24, 2013 4:14 PM
  • PresentationFramework is already in there. I'm not the one who added it, but it's there (this is a huge project with many people working on it). Gives this error anyways.
    Friday, May 24, 2013 5:28 PM
  • Debug the code by creating a new project and just put the minimum number of libraries require to remove the errors.  I often find by using the Edit - Find - Symbol (it vaires where Symbol is located depedning on VS version).  Choose all components.  This will help you resolve the problem.  You may have conflicts between libraries and then you will need to include the namespace to resolve the conflicts.

jdweng

Friday, May 24, 2013 5:47 PM