Problem running Unit Tests in Visual Studio 2008 RRS feed

• Question

• I have been running unit tests on my workstation for Visual Studio 2008, and the other day, it fails returning an error "Test host process exited unexpectedly" without running any tests.  Not only are the tests in the project that I was working on, no longer working, but also in a brand new project I created.  The tests will run in another machine, but I am trying to debug what happened here, so I don't have to waste the time re-installing Visual Studio 2008.

I looked into it futher using procmon from SysInternals, and it looks like vstesthost.exe is terminating unexpectedly.  Somewhere in the messages, it lists that vstesthost.exe cannot find the file "Microsoft.VisualStudio.QualityTools.Common.dll" first in the GAC, then in the IDE directory.  On a working machine, after vstesthost.exe cannot find the file in the GAC, it finds it in the PrivateAssemblies folder.  Why would the vstesthost.exe stop looking in the PrivateAssemblies folder?  When I try to debug the tests on the non-working machine, it fails with unable to find "Microsoft.VisualStudio.QualityTools.Common.dll".  How do I get it to work again?

As an additional note, running the tests under mstest.exe also fails, unless I use the /noisolation flag.  Based on what I see, mstest.exe also tries to create a vstesthost, unless I use that flag.

Saturday, January 5, 2013 6:38 AM

Answers

• Hello Bob,

Glad to receive your reply.

Generally after installing VS, the Microsoft.VisualStudio.QualityTools.Common assembly should be installed in the GAC. You can check if it is there from %WinDir%/assembly.

You also can check if it locates at disk:<Microsoft Visual Studio 8.0>\Common7\IDE\PublicAssemblies.

If you can’t find it, I suspect it is caused by an installation problem. I suggest that you can uninstall the VS2008 completely and then reinstall it to correct it.