File Directory in C# RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am new to c# I want to ask if its possible to enter an external directory using C#, because in my case I have an external device called Windows CE, DOT handheld. .

Here, I am trying to delete a file in a specific directory, this time I am using the C drive which works fine for me.

File.Delete(@"C:\folder1\folder2\maPA.exe");

But when I use a different Directory on Computer tree-view where all Drive is listed Like:

• Local Disk (C:)
    • Files (X:)
    • Cherry (This is an external device connected through cable a Windows CE, DOT handheld)

This time I will use CHERRY device as a directory and tried this code but didn't work

File.Delete(@"Computer\CHERRY\\\Program Files\ManPa\maPA.exe");
    Any work-around for this one ? Thanks..

• Edited by JZoler Wednesday, October 31, 2018 1:48 AM
    Wednesday, October 31, 2018 1:34 AM

All replies

• The correct UNC path has the form of the following. Please correct it and check again to see if it works.

\\<computer name>\<share name>\<path>

Altenatively you can just write a simple program that allows you to select a file through OpenFileDialog and display the path to see it. I'm pretty sure a path starts with "Computer\<computer name>" is not a valid one.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 2:01 AM
    Answerer
  • File.Delete(@"C:\folder1\folder2\maPA.exe");

Here just replace "C:" with "E:" or "X:" or whatever letter your external device gets in explorer

Wednesday, October 31, 2018 8:12 AM
  • Hi Jreloz,

Firstly, please check if you have permission to read/write the file in your external device. 

Then try the following code.

var uri = new Uri("file://ComputerPCName/folder1/folder2/maPA.exe", UriKind.Absolute);
    System.IO.File.Delete(uri.LocalPath);

Best regards,

Zhanglong

MSDN Community Support