none
Third Party reports to formatted excel files RRS feed

• Question

• This may or may not be a simple question as it involves three different platforms and an unusual way of getting things done. I have some experience with access database and big data but needs some direction:

In short, I need to take a report from a third party source, run a query on this data to pull out needed information, format this information into a relatively specific format then export to excel so I can then print/distribute.

For example: I need to take a third party report that comes in excel format (this report is not aesthetically pleasing what so ever) for inventory of a specific shelter containing some equipment. Would like to use access as a database to store the information from the report then use some sort of query (open to other options other than a query) to pick and pull information into a certain format then export back to excel  

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 2:24 PM

All replies

• Hi James,

Access and Excel are used for different purposes. If the data in Excel lends itself into a database structure, then it shouldn't be a problem importing it into Access, manipulate the data, and then export it back to Excel for formatting or charting. However, if the data in Excel does not easily represent a database table, then you'll have a hard time importing the data into Access. It might still be possible, but you'll have to do a lot of work.

Just my 2 cents...

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 3:35 PM
  • You might be able to link the source excel file and import the data in that manner or perhaps so simple Excel automation could be utilized, but without concrete examples of what your inputs and desired outputs are it is next to impossible to better guide you.

Daniel Pineault, 2010-2017 Microsoft MVP
    Professional Support: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
    MS Access Tips and Code Samples: http://www.devhut.net

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 4:49 PM
  • Hi Young James II,